Image

My Strings of Choice

11 Apr

Daddario

Over the 25-plus years I’ve been playing classical guitar, I have tried a number of different kinds of strings. For a while, I played Augustine. A couple of years ago, I tried the much-lauded Gallo Genius strings. At first, I was enthralled by their incredible tone and projection, but I found their life to be ridiculously short. By the time they were ready to hold their tuning, they sounded dead! As if that wasn’t enough, one of them broke just 10 days after I put them on! After all the trial and error, I find I keep coming back to D’Addario Pro Arte. They sound great and project well. I’m sure there are many other wonderful strings I have yet to discover. If anyone has suggestions, I would love to hear them. For now, I will be using D’Addario Pro Arte to record “Guitarrista!” You may notice notice I opt for the black nylon trebles. To be honest, I don’t notice any tonal difference between the black and the clear nylon. I just prefer the appearance of the black strings.

6 Responses to “My Strings of Choice”

  1. Paula Hendrickson April 11, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    I know you’ve been working on an album, but it will be fun to track its progress via your new blog.

    • jcookjourn April 11, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      It will help me keep on track, too. With the expectation that I post regularly, I’ll need to make sure I am making progress each week.

  2. Dr Charles Olson April 14, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    Julie, I will be so interested in how your log unfolds kama not to mention how you’re recording develops. Thanks for keeping us in touch along the way. God’s love, Chuck

    • jcookjourn April 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      Thank you, Chuck! Great to see you yesterday. I’m so pleased you visited my blog. Looking forward to your future comments and feedback.

      • Kathi Ferrero April 15, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

        This is a great start, Julie. I can’t wait to hear the album and track progress. You are the best!

  3. jcookjourn April 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    Thank you so much, Kathi. Your support and encouragement mean a lot!

Leave a Reply

